6-week post-surgery update

Standard

WARNING: GRAPHIC PICTURES AHEAD! 

It has officially been 6 weeks since surgery!

I went to doc on Tuesday (3 days ago) and had my cast removed. I went to appointment thinking I would be leaving with a big, clunky walking boot. I did not.

Having a cast removed feels so weird.

The saw is loud but cannot hurt the skin.

I thought it was funny when I was asked if I wanted to keep my cast.

My skin is DRY and my foot is PUFFY!

   

It looks GROSS to me…

But doc was thrilled with look of ankle. My incision is healing beautifully. He put me in a ASO brace and sent me to Physical Therapy.

I have been in PT for a few weeks rehabbing my knee. I was able to start that process much sooner. Knee is healing wonderfully. I’ve been taking FitStella to PT (she also hangs with me on the couch and reminds me to eat my veggies).

Fit Stella with Dr. Nikki

 

PT is hard work. I am only just able to stand on my ankle…while using crutches. I am not putting all my weight on my ankle and I am not ready to take a step on it yet. I am learning the meaning of the words “baby steps” and I am actually loving it!  I have learned a lot while healing from my surgeries.

My body is amazing. I am healing and learning and growing. AND, it’s not just physical!

I am learning and growing during this healing process.

My body NEEDS me to take it slow.

I am going to give my body what it needs!

 

 

*more later!!

 

5 responses »

  1. Isn’t it amazing how the body can heal? I’m so glad that you are doing well and taking things slow. That is exactly how you will get to your strongest self quicker.

    Wishing you a wonderful New Year! {Hugs}

  2. Hooray Jen! That’s great news!!! One day at a time girlie! It’s nice sometimes to be one with slowing down, even if the way it all started might not be how we planned (or wanted). Sending you big hugs! xo

penny for your thoughts...

