weighing in, #WW week 10

Standard

The scale: 

This week: 226.4

Last week: 229.4

Change:  -3

Total Loss: -5.6

The Reaction and the Reflection: 

oh yeah baby!!

that’s what I’m talkin’ bout!!

This week I focused on tracking.  I tracked more than just my WW points. I also tracked my calories using myfitnesspal (MFP) – not for calorie counting purposes but to know what my protein, carbs, fats, and fiber count/percentage is each day. I know I need to eat more protein while I am on the NROLFW plan but I was not sure how much protein I was actually eating every day. I have also been thinking about the amount of carbs I have in my diet…and fiber.  I am starting to think, when it comes to tracking, I need more than simple WW points.  I NEED my WW meetings; they have come to mean so much…plus, the scale may be an issue if I had to deal with it on my own. I like that I step on the scale but I don’t have to see the scale…it isn’t the important part of this journey!

The Lesson: 

This week’s meeting was all about ANCHORS.

Why did we start Weight Watchers? one lady told her roller coaster story…the day she sat on the bench, telling her son she was tired and didn’t want to ride the roller coaster, when in fact she feared not fitting on the roller coaster.

Why do we attend the Saturday, 10:30am meeting? Friendship, this meeting is like a family…so many of the member are longstanding members, in many different places on their journeys.

Do we have an anchor? On a boat, an anchor is used to keep the boat from drifting away. The anchor keeps the boat in its place, only letting the boat stray so far before stopping it.

My sportID bracelet is engraved with the words, “make each say better than the day before” and this helps me remember to take it all one day at a time. One lady talked about a picture she took just this morning…she took a picture of an old pair of underwear from 100+pounds ago with her current underwear on top of the old pair…this was her anchor…a strong visual reminder why she is on this journey.  Some of the ladies mentioned their WW 10% keychains or 25-pound disc as an anchor.

I think I will look for the perfect anchor….maybe a charm for my pandora-style bracelet since I wear that nearly every day.

What is your anchor?

penny for your thoughts...

