workin’ on it, always workin’ on it

Standard

I want to make changes.

But I am resistant.

I want my husband to make changes.

He is totally resistant.

But something’s gotta give.

I need to make changes until I find the right ones for permanent, healthy living.  The changes that work long-term for me and for my family.

  •  I have triggers – foods I eat with the intention of only one and then devour way more than one. brownies. really, yummy, fresh from the oven bread,
  •  I need to track – it doesn’t matter where, WW, MFP, paper – it works!
  •  I do much better when I eat lots of fruits and veggies and meats.
  •  I do so much better with a plan that works for me. Like I have to go to the gym right after school – if I come home first, I get comfortable and then I make excuses and I then  I don’t go to the gym.
  •  I also realize, I need consistency! I do better when I have something planned each day – I like my lifting on MWF, and I really like my Thursday, 4:45 yoga class

I think I need my own food rules.

I have no idea what they are just yet but I know they have to be MY rules – whatever works for me.

I will definitely need to track better so I know what works best for me.

I guess all of life is just one big series of trial and error and try again.

I suppose finding my healthy/happy/food/exercise/ balance is the current round of trial and error.

I can only hope to show my husband and daughter good, healthy habits.

I can really hope to inspire and encourage ALL of us to have good, healthy habits!

always an adventure on planet Jen, I tell ya!

time to head out to my WW meeting.

peace, y’all!

 

 

About jennifer lynn

a 30-something woman learning to listen and love her whole self while she mends from a bum knee and ankle. Recovery is not easy and I needed a space to document this chapter in my journey!

2 responses »

  1. The random trial-and-error of finding what works is frustrating on one hand, but so satisfying once you find it!! And then comes the day when you have to tweak it again (which is where I am right now). This is why jumping on various diet/program bandwagons never worked for me…it was only when I looked deep within and started to become aware of what my mind/body/spirit needed that I started to make what I call true progress. If I can do it, you can too 🙂

  2. Yes yes….always a work in progress.

    I have adopted a saying fro Winston Churchill… “Success is not final, failure is not fatal. It’s the courage to keep going that matters.”

    You ARE working it!

    Love ya!!

penny for your thoughts...

