point 2

Standard

I am officially on a losing streak! I have now lost (or maintained once) every week for eight weeks straight. In those 8 weeks, I have lost 7.6 pounds. So, almost a pound each week. When I lay it all out like that, I am totally happy with the results.

I stopped making losing weight a priority and started losing weight. Crazy, right?!? I have been focusing on how I feel. And I want to feel good.

I don’t want food and food counting (points or calories or any of that stuff) to be the sole point of this journey. I want to enjoy food…I mean, seriously, I LOVE food. I love being in the kitchen cooking food, scouring pinterest for new recipes, and I really, really love eating yummy foods. Food should be fun. Not punishment. Food should not be feared.

I refuse to make food the enemy. I want to lose weight but I don’t want to do it some hung-ho-balls-to-the-wall crazy fad diet. I am not really that committed to crazy. I may be a little crazy but the good kind!

Obviously, my slow and steady and listen to my body/heart approach is working. I am eating really good and good for me foods. I am certainly not perfect with my eating but I am finally feeling in control of my eating. I have pretty much cut my wheat consumption way down – I started off trying to go completely wheat free but I quickly realized some days it is hard to feed the family spaghetti and meatballs and not have any myself. Also, a girl needs a sandwich every now and again. For the most part, I like how I feel when I eat a lot less wheat.

I think I have a good handle on the food stuff. However, I have not been really doing much on the fitness stuff. As in, I have done almost nothing on the fitness front. I am not sure what my problem with working out is, but I just can’t seem to get myself there.

Is it weird that I have no desire to sweat?

I just am not in the mind frame to go all hardcore, badass. I need to step back from the all or nothing mentality. For me badass and hardcore are just not in my best interest these days. These days, I need to take the point twos and be happy with slow, steady baby steps.

And not to contradict myself, but I am challenging myself to get into yoga. I may not want to work our but I know I need to do something. I need to make some sort of physical activity a part of my daily life but I want to take it easy. Start off slow. I know that sounds wussy, but I don’t want to fizzle. I will start by taking my dog for a walk every day. AND I want to get into yoga. I have dvds and access to a really cheap class (plus I can take 2 yoga classes at the gym before my membership runs out next month) pretty close to home.

Here’s to the next .2!

7 responses »

  1. Awesome, Jen! That’s the perfect frame of mind to be in, I think. It’s the “all or nothing” mentality that has gotten me in trouble time and time again. I’m making a conscious effort to be kind to myself and to let things go….sounds like you’re doing the same. Keep it up!

  2. I am there too… Letting go of the struggle of dieting, exercise, thoughts…all in the vein of losing weight has released something and the scale has started to edge downward. And Yoga…well…my first private lesson is what I attribute to the beginning of the *shift*

penny for your thoughts...

