emotional, hormonal and achy

Standard

I knew I was gonna have a gain this week. It was an emotionally and hormonally charged week. Work was crazy (summer schedule is only one month long and the weeks go FAST) and I got my period – both of which left me wanting to eat everything in sight.

Unfortunately, I let myself do it.

The non-stop eating included pasta, bread and brownies to name a few.

I have been so good at controlling the sweet-toothed bitch that lives inside my ovaries.

We don’t need a rehashing of my transgressions….

needless to say,

I gained 1.2 pounds this week when I went to Weight Watchers.

I knew it was gonna happen.

I deserve every but of it.

I did not track. I must at least journal when I eat.

I ate a lot of crap. I had a belly ache to prove it. side note, I think something I ate is a trigger for some sort of IBS issues.   I have had way too many belly ache issues lately. Journal/tracking will also help me see any patterns between foods and belly issues.

I knew I was going to gain but I went anyway.

I had an excuse to skip WW this week. My mom needed me to help her clean changeovers on Saturday when I am usually at my WW meeting. I stopped at WW for my weigh-in, knowing full well I was going to gain, on my way to my mom’s house. And then we went to clean condos for 4+hours.

Sometimes being a girl is exhausting. Emotionally draining. A sappy commercial can sting my eyes with tears. A not-what-I-wanna-hear comment from my husband can piss me off or make my cry.

And then the stupid scale reflects all the stupid non-stop eating.

*big sigh*

This whole journey is about learning and growing. This week I learned a few things:

  • I need to stay away from brownies all the time but especially during period week.
  • I stay away from “bad” stuff when I eat way less wheat. So, I am going to try to keep wheat to once a day consumption at the most.
  •  My body and mind feel better when I yoga. I can’t believe it has taken me this long to yen for yoga. I know I need to move more, I know I feel better when I move so I know it is time for me to bite the bullet and just move more. Yoga has a way of making my frankenleg feel so good – my calf gets such a good stretch and my arch doesn’t ache if my calf is stretched enough.
  • When I first started this journey, way back way, I loved walking (out on my bikepath or in my living room with my walking dvds). I think I can go right back to my walking ways. Walking can only be good. In fact, I picked up a playaway audiobook from my library to test out on my walks. I have plenty of walking dvds and there a bunch on-demand. 30 minutes, most days, I just have no excuse.
  • While I have other equipment (ugi, resistance bands, kettlebells), I don’t need to do everything all at once. I am just going to concentrate on yoga and walking. I am not worried about what time of day I do either as long as I do one or both each day.
  • Tomorrow is a new day. A new chance to figure out how to make it all work for me. A new day to make good choices.

I should probably go to bed.

 

6 responses »

  1. Loving your honesty with yourself, Jen. I *need* to get back to blogging – I’ve got so much emotion inside me that I’m NOT dealing with, I’m eating them instead. I need to spill. Thanks for the reminder.

    • oh Karena, I have to be honest with myself. I have done the not-honest thing and it sucks the life out of me. As for blogging…I am gonna do an august blog challenge. Let me know if you are interested and I will get you the link. xoxo

      • yes, definitley let me know! I’m doing a clean eating challenge for the month of August – a blogging challenge might go along with that quite well. I NEED this!

  2. I heard a podcast yesterday that said do not make long term decisions based on short term feelings.

    What happened yesterday is based on short term feelings. You know this will pass (and unfortunately return in a month or so) and if you are cognizant of the coming changes then you can prepare. This is not a set back only a learning lesson.

    Good on you for going and weighing in regardless of what the outcome was. Just proves you’re in this for the long haul!

penny for your thoughts...

