Aah aah aaachhooo

Standard

I am sick or I have allergies or some of both. Anyway you name it, I’m feeling totally miserable.
But this post really isn’t about being sick…well, not exactly.
I’m working on new goals these days:
1. Live my blog title and actually listen, learn, love, and mend.
2. Work thru and complete New Rules of Lifting for Women.

I have been at the gym quite regularly and I’m happily finding my groove. I’m actually looking forward to my time at the gym.
Getting sick is putting a damper on my gym and lifting adventures.
Monday, I made it to the gym and had a great workout but it wiped me out. I had a hard time catching and keeping my breath while I warmed up and chatted with a pesky trainer. I noticed it took a bit longer to breathe normally between sets. But I powered thru my workout and I felt pretty kickass.
Then I woke up the next morning to a Mac truck sitting on my head and razorblades in my throat. Unfortunately, I need to be in school right now. There is just too much going on to be sick. Thankfully, I have great students and they have been so helpful and have taken over all reading duties until I have a voice back.
Tuesday was the first time in months I did not take a gym bag to school. You see, I have learned the absolute best time for me to go to the gym is on my way home from school. It just works! I knew if I took my bag, I would go to the gym. And at 7:30 in the morning, I knew I would need a nap at 3pm not an hour on the elliptical. So I planned a rest day.
And I am so glad I did! I needed the rest.
Yesterday (Wednesday) was not much better. OK OK. It was worse. Add in a whole lotta sneezing and coughing and I just plainly feel worse. Yesterday, I had to make the decision not to travel to Maryland to spend the weekend with my bestie and run the Warrior Dash. I am bummed and pissed and sad and angry and annoyed and tired and tired and sick!

I am trying to honor my body.
I am learning to listen to my body and do right by it.

It’s not always easy. I often fight between what my body needs and what my head thinks I need or worse yet, what I think I should be doing. And what I think I should be doing isn’t always what is best for me.

How do you manage the struggle with the inner battle?

About jennifer lynn

a 30-something woman learning to listen and love her whole self while she mends from a bum knee and ankle. Recovery is not easy and I needed a space to document this chapter in my journey!

3 responses »

  1. You see, after doing your workouts over and over, your body is always in a constant state of breakdown. At some point, even your immune system is compromised and you get sick. I’ve actually pinpointed my own rhythms.

  2. What led to me beginning CrossFit was a realization that, if left to my own devices, I would never push myself hard enough to truly make the changes I needed to in order to get in shape. Occasional jogs and going through the chest-and-biceps motions of a traditional gym simply weren’t going to get it done. I also knew that there was no shot that I’d be able to stick to a diet if it didn’t coincide with something more offensive, like physical training of some sort that demanded I take in more nutrients and less garbage.

  3. You see, after doing your workouts over and over, your body is always in a constant state of breakdown. At some point, even your immune system is compromised and you get sick. I’ve actually pinpointed my own rhythms.

penny for your thoughts...

