who needs a pain in the neck?!?

Standard

 Last week I went to see a new chiropractor.

Actually, I scheduled an appointment for a consultation and evaluation from this new chiropractor AFTER a wonderful free chair massage. You see, this chiropractor sent his massage therapist to our school for Teacher Appreciation Week and gave us all free chair massages. My neck and back needed that little massage so much. But, I also realized my back and neck may need more work than just a simple massage.

I have had issues with my neck and back for a LONG time. I thought it was all those years of working at a desk doing data entry at the same time I was going to college at night. I could feel my back and neck tighten up as I typed and studied and researched my way into the wee hours of the night.

Fast forward a bunch of years …and I was still having off and on issues but I added on the wonderful issue with my piriformis. On the same side of my body as my neck and back issues. All on my left side. Oddly enough, I needed surgery on my right knee and right ankle.

I never realized just how connected all these things were until recently. Healing from my surgery has been a much longer process than I ever imagined it could be. I only thought I was prepared for what that surgery and healing and what I would need to make it all better. It has been WAY harder and has taken many, many extra steps.

Its like the expression….”take a step forward only to take two steps back…”

My knee and ankle are completely healed from my surgery. My ankle is sturdier than I ever remember it being. My knees don’t hurt when I walk or run or step. I did all the rehab and PT. But now that I have my knee and ankle fixed, I keep finding new areas that need help. My neck and back thing, my piriformis thing and my gremlin (that’s what I call my belly issue….but this is another story entirely) keep showing their ugly heads.

So back to my new chiropractor, Dr. S. He did an evaluation which started with a 4-page questionnaire/history and was followed by an interview, x-rays, and a physical exam.  I came back a few days later and Dr. S. went over my x-rays and his analysis. In normal (meaning mine) language, here’s what he told me: 1. my neck is pretty screwed up – I sorta lean my head forward from the position it is supposed to be (which is a big factor in my muscle issues in my neck and back); 2. my hip hurts because the last vertebrae (I think that’s what it is) sits sideways or the wrong way (which is a reason for my hip/ass and low back pain); 3. I have a bit of a TMJ thing; and 4. I have a perfect pelvis.

Dr. S. is convinced he can get me stable and pain-free. Unfortunately, he also says I will probably feel like crap while I get back to right.  I wasn’t too concerned because on the day of the first adjustment I was scheduled for an endoscopy and knew the rest of the day was going to be yucky. I went back the next day and again felt pretty good. The adjustments were very different from any chiropractic adjustment I have ever had in the past. I can’t exactly explain all the hows it was different, it was just different. Dr. S. does an evaluation before each adjustment…so each adjustment is different. I woke up the day after my second adjustment with my back feeling worse and it ached for two days.  I was warned! Dr. S. was so right…I felt like crap. But, I know it was a different “I feel like crap” backache than it could be. Not that, I want to feel like crap and need to rest so much.

I know some days are going to suck and some days I am going to have to rest instead of lift and I am not allowed to squat more than 40pounds, using dumbbells. And even knowing all this, I am up for the challenge. I know I can only come out of this stronger. And seriously, what’s the point of working out and getting stronger if I don’t take care of these issues. A bum back can only get worse over time and cause more and more problems.

I have new fitness goals, long range fitness goals, goals with no set end-date.

  1. Complete NROLFW
  2. Join a volleyball team (right now I know I am not in volleyball playing shape)
  3. Take a yoga teacher certification course
  4. Hike somewhere really cool
  5. Stand up paddleboard

 

I have learned a lot about myself and my body in the past 6 months. It started with a yoga class, then a yin yoga class, and now lifting weights. It being a much better understanding of a mind-body connection, a better way to slow my mind enough to hear what is going on with my body, and the role my mind has on my body.

I want to do many awesome things…..but first I must get my body working properly. I must mend a little more. This only seems like two steps back. In reality, this is forward movement….I am not pissed at my body and its brokenness but I am simply working on fixing the problem so I can get to that list of goals. I am not exactly accepting ALL of the what is going on but I am taking it in stride. I am resting when I need to rest, I am listening to my body and going to Dr. S. to fix the back. I figure the gym will be there when I am up to going, but if I need to fix my back so I can stay in the game as long as I want to stay in it.

Listening and mending and progress.

Do you enjoy the benefits of chiropractic care?

 

2 responses »

  1. I do love me some chiro. I had it extensively for when I was hit by a car. Only thing is, my back never fully got right after the accident, even with the wonderful chiro. I was only years later when I started doing Yoga that I become 100% painfree. Go figure. BUT! Chiro will most certainly do you wonders. Enjoy it!

penny for your thoughts...

