struggling and #rethinkyourday

Standard

I haven’t blogged much lately.

I haven’t been doing anything really blog-worthy.

You see, I have been struggling a lot this year.

Struggling to find my way.

Struggling to find my way in a sea of awesome people doing awesome things.

Struggling to find the way that would make me happy.

But you see the thing is….if I really think about it….I haven’t really been struggling…I think I have been stuck in a pattern of over-analysis paralysis.

It all started with a bit of stomach pains….or what I call, my gremlin.

  • I have been going to doctors and having procedures all to figure out what is going on with my stomach.
  • I completed the Whole30 in January and kept up with Paleo until my birthday in late February.
  • In March, my doctor told me to eat normal. My tests, at this point, were negative and doc wanted to see how I reacted.
  • More tests. More negative results.
  • finally, we hit a wall. No answers, still having issues.

The good new…its nothing scary. The bad news…I have no answers and that is also scary.

Scarier still…

  • 10.5 months later. No news. According to the doc, the only thing he can say is I have unknown stomach irritation.
  • I have yoyo’d my weight again.
  • I have let myself slip into a nasty funk.
  • I have been totally stuck. I can’t seem to make myself get out of own way, or to get my ass off the couch.
  • I am quite upset with myself.

I tried to fake it for a long time.

I think I even succeeded.

At least, I succeeded.

Ok, I succeeded in fooling myself.

So, what am I supposed to do now?!?

I am going to jump back on the horse, so to speak.

I am making no grand declarations. I am not even thinking about weight loss or marathons. In fact, I am thinking of things in a whole different light.

I am going to work on making ME feel better.

I am going to walk and practice yoga at every chance….why?!? because doing so makes me smile.  I am going to wear my pedometer and step my way to more and more steps each day.

I am going back to the beginning.  When I first started taking an interest in my health…weight loss and physical activity…it was all about making small changes. Those small changes add up.

I was so good at these small changes. Adding in extra steps. That was before I started comparing my progress with other. Before I started think I had to run half marathons like all my online friends were doing.

I am joining my Polar family with a challenge to #rethinkyourday because I need to rethink MY day!

It may be the best way to get me back in my own head.

And with that being said, I am going downstairs to use the school treadmill before I go help out the Color Guard (my daughter is in the high school marching band’s color guard) get their makeup on for tonight’s Halloween parade.

I will grab Pedro, my pedometer at start wearing Pedro (yep, my pedometer has a name) again.

I will rethink my day, will you #rethinkyourday?!?!

How?

2 responses »

penny for your thoughts...

