GF update

Standard

remember when I posted last week and I said I was experimenting with a gluten free diet?!?

Well, I have survived 7 whole days with almost no gluten.  I think the only time I had some sneaky gluten was the other night when my husband made burgers. He added some breadcrumbs to the meat mixture before he remembered my experiment. I didn’t freak out. This is a huge change for my little family and while I tried to be prepare us, it is a change and it will take some getting used to.

Thoughts on the first seven days:

  • This is harder than I thought – I have to be prepared. I often take leftovers for lunch but when there aren’t any in the fridge, I can’t just make a sandwich.
  • This is not as hard as I thought – as long as I plan and prep, I think this will be ok. I need to give myself the time for both of those things.
  • I was eating a lot of bread and I was in denial about just how much.
  • My sweet tooth is connected to my wheat tooth. Case in point – I cannot walk past brownies and not eat one. Or two. Or six. I wish I was kidding. However, I can easily say no to candy.  So, for me, not eating wheat/gluten has been helped keep my sweet tooth calm. Just one sweet wheat treat and I need/want MORE.
  • I have been tracking on MFP and it is not driving me crazy. I have tried many times to stay consistent with my tracking but I don’t think my head was not in the right place. So, I stopped. This time, it feels different. I have taken a lot of the stress out of the equation. I am simply using this tool to see what I am eating. No judgement.
  • It is very easy to undereat while eating gluten free. At least, it is easy for me during this transition. Last night, I wasn’t feeling too hot -nothing I could really explain, I just felt off – when I looked at my MFP daily totals I was only at 12oo cals. 1200 cals is not nearly enough calories for me, for a whole day. No wonder I didn’t feel right. I ate 2 eggs, some tortilla chips and homemade salsa and I felt so much better.
  • Turkey Kill Original Vanilla Ice Cream, Klondike Bars (the original and the double chocolate), LaraBars and dried cherries are ALL gluten free. This is good to know! I still need some sweet in my life and I like dessert, so it is nice to have a few options.
  • I am feeling some improvement. I am not crazy-lady itching to the point where I feel out of control and I haven’t had any serious pangs of pain in my gremlin for a few days. Tiny improvement is enough for now because I really wasn’t expecting to see any improvement. Especially, so soon.

It has been an interesting week. I feel good about choosing to experiment with gluten free. I was procrastinated for quite a while before finally diving in. I did it my way and I think that made this week’s transition “easy” for me and my family. This weekend coming up I am going to meal prep enough to ensure I don’t undereat. I will make snacks/mini-meals that will be easy to grab and eat with minimal work.

Do you have any go-to gluten free snacks or mini meals you can recommend? Link me, please, I love recipes!!

7 responses »

  1. Big crock of chili, but make sure you don’t used store-bought chili mix. Most contain wheat. I make my own chili seasoning mix. From week 1, I started making chili to have for lunches. It’s a great go-to, high in protein and fiber and kept me satisfied all afternoon.

    • If Spring decided to stick around, we are probably done with chili for the season. But, chili does seem like it will make a great snack or go-to mini meal. With a baked potato and it’s a meal! I have two chili makers in the family, I haven’t ever had to make it myself. 🙂

  2. Banana Muffins
    1/2 cup almond flour
    1/4 cup coconut flour
    1 tbsp cinnamon
    1 tsp nutmeg
    1/2 tsp salt
    3 eggs
    3 or 4 spotty bananas
    1 tbsp honey
    1/2 tsp vanilla
    1/3 cup walnuts

    Mix dry ingredients in one bowl. Beat wet ingredients in another. Add dry ingredients and mix until relatively smooth. Then stir in walnuts. Makes 12 muffins. Bake 25 minutes at 350.

    Not only are they gluten free, but there is no added fat and the only sweetener is the honey. They are great for grab and go snacks and will last a few days. We pretty much always have these on hand.

    • I will keep this recipe in my bank. Right now, I haven’t bought GF flours – going GF is helping me stay away from some of those foods I overdo…like baked goods.
      I love the ingredient list in your muffins. I will be making these in a few weeks. I love bananas and banana bread! yumm!

  3. Baked potato is a cheap and handy lunch. Lunch meat roll ups work too. Canned tuna over salad veggies. I also tend to keep nuts in the car/purse for when I can’t find a suitable option. Bunless burgers are your friend in a restaurant.

  4. Hummus and veggies!
    Thin slices of ham rolled around a small piece of cheese, and some zucchini.

    If you feel better, when are prepared to say you’re gluten free instead of simply experimenting?

  5. Planning and prepping is definitely key. I still struggle if I don’t get those things in. For snacks I do nuts, my own trail mix, boiled eggs, fruit, fresh veggies, homemade ‘larabars’, smoothies…. lol, I could go on for days.

penny for your thoughts...

