wednesday was a washout

Standard

Something is making me itchy.

I went to an allergist and he did all the normal allergy tests. Anytime they touched me, my skin reacted. The girl administering the test kept commenting that even writing on my back in pen was making my back react. However, after the 20 minute wait time, I showed no reaction. No allergic reaction. The doctor sent me for blood work to check for Lyme’s and to see what was going on with my thyroid.

Since I already needed blood work, I called my regular doctor and asked for a form to get my regular, annual blood work. I have great blood!!

BUT

There is still something going on.

Let’s take yesterday as an example. I got home from work, had some burgers (no bun) for lunch and then my daughter wanted to take me and big man out for ice cream before she went away for a long weekend with her friend. By the time we had dropped Q at her friend’s house after ice cream, I was itchy. I was probably itchy before but nothing major.

I came home and popped an allergy pill (think Benadryl but generic) and was napping within a half hour. That stupid pill knocked me on my ass. I slept for over two hours and then it took me a good hour to come out of  that nap. I was so groggy.

Dinner didn’t happen until after 8pm.

And the itchy returned.

Another pill and back to bed.

I ended the day with only 6,120 steps and no workout.

I am torn….I want to be annoyed that I didn’t get my workout….I am just getting back and I don’t want to already derail myself…so I am reflecting on it…

I went out for ice cream with my kid and I had a soft-serve twist with rainbow jimmies (or sprinkles if you are not in south Jersey). Do you know how cool it is when your kid offers to take YOU out for ice cream?!? Q has a job now and her own money and she wanted to spend it on her parents. Whether I am dieting or wanting to lose weight, I will not deprive myself or my family of some of the fun, summer experiences.

I do not want my teenage daughter to think deprivation is a way of life. I do not want her to see me miserable and missing out because of weight. My daughter is absolutely perfect and I do not want her to ever think there is something wrong with the occasional ice cream outing. I watched my mom diet my whole life and that really had its effect on me. I don’t want to do that to my Q.

Some days it is hard to think about dieting or losing weight. Yesterday was one of those days. It was 92* and crazy humid, the AC in my car does not work well, my Q is  going away for 5 days, and I got a case of the itchies. Yesterday was that day….diet…lose weight…who cares!! I did have ice cream…one cup (not a cone) of ice cream. I felt like crap and I was tired but still I made a decent dinner with veggies and protein that was quite delicious! I did not say “fuck it, I am itchy, eat the wheat.”

I listened to what my body needed. Good food, veggies and water, and sleep.  Today is a new day. I am a little groggy as I start this day, but it is a new day. I am going into school for a few hours to set up for next week when my summer program starts then I am going to find some way to enjoy the rest of the day. It is supposed to storm later so hopefully that will help get rid of the crazy humidity going on right now.

I am off to make it a good day!

Hugs & Much Love,

Jennifer Lynn

IMG_20140629_160905_239

IMG_20140629_160905_239

**total randomness: I need to learn how to use the DSLR I own & I need pictures for every blog post. I like pictures. So that is why I posted the beautiful picture above. I took that pic on my phone on Sunday when we were at Low Tide Beach.

About jennifer lynn

Mom. Wife. Teacher. Bartender. Jen. I'm trying to balance life with living. I'm trying to find my Zen (balance and happiness) in a world of chaos. I'm a busy mama but I need to find my Zen.

2 responses »

penny for your thoughts...

